Team


Contact us


Emerson AndrewsEmerson Andrews

Sustainable Campus Initiative Fund Manager

emerson.andrews@utah.edu

801-581-7510

Emerson works with students to help them access grant funding for sustainability-focused projects through the Sustainable Campus Initiative Fund. He also works closely with Facilities Management to identify and initiate larger projects with cost savings for the Sustainable Energy Fund, a revolving loan.


Brenda Bowen, director of the Global Change and Sustainability Center.Brenda Bowen

Director of Global Change & Sustainability Center (GCSC)

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

801-585-5326

Brenda oversees the creation and execution of the GCSC Strategic Plan, develops and oversees the budget, represents the GCSC in outreach, collaborations, committees and initiatives, designs research, training and teaching activities, and supervises and supports the development of staff members.


amy-brunvandAmy Brunvand

Associate Librarian

amy.brunvand@utah.edu

801-585-9352

Amy is an academic librarian embedded in the Sustainability Office. Her primary areas of focus are data collection for the STARS report on campus sustainability, research consultation, data and assessment help for sustainability related topics, and collection and archiving to support sustainable activity and research on campus and use of the campus as a living laboratory.


Kerry Case, tree background, wearing red scarf and black shirt

Kerry Case

Chief Sustainability Officer

sustainability@utah.edu

801-585-9352

Kerry provides senior administrative leadership for strategic planning and implementation of institutional sustainability efforts at the University of Utah. She oversees the work of the Global Change and Sustainability Center (GCSC), Sustainability Office, and efforts to incorporate sustainability into the academic curriculum.


Ginger Cannon

Active Transportation Manager

ginger.cannon@utah.edu

801-581-7505

Ginger manages programming, research, and infrastructure for the benefit of people who walk, bike or roll to their campus destinations.


Meghan Dovick

Associate Instructor

meghan.dovick@utah.edu

Meghan instructs and teaches SUST courses including the GCSC Seminar and Global Changes and Society courses. She also administers the Interdisciplinary Graduate Certificate in Sustainability and advises enrolled graduate students.


Kara Freedman

Sustainability Engagement & Events Coordinator

kara.freedman@utah.edu


Sarah Hinners

Associate Director of Global Change & Sustainability Center

sarah.hinners@utah.edu


Julie Johnsson

Administrative Assistant for the Global Change & Sustainability Center and Sustainability Office

sustainability@utah.edu


Jessica Kemper

Sustainable Food Initiatives Manager

jessica.kemper@utah.edu

801-585-9789

Jess is an advocate for student voices, coordinating student food groups and developing strategies to bring more sustainable food to campus. The programs she manages are designed to achieve goals around food procurement, access, literacy, and leadership, as outlined by the Sustainability Action Plan.


Ming Li

Accountant for the Global Change & Sustainability Center and Sustainability Office

ming.li@utah.edu


laurie_mecham_smLaurie Mecham

Global Change & Sustainability Center Administrative Program Coordinator

laurie.mecham@utah.edu

801-581-6414

Laurie supports the GCSC director and the executive committee and manages processes such as fellowship and grant applications, website and internal communications, events, reporting, and special projects.


Headshot of Dr. Jennifer Watt wearing light gray sweater with silver necklace. Dr. Watt has bangs and shoulder-length wavy brown hair.

Jennifer Watt

Director of Sustainability Education

jennifer.watt@envst.utah.edu

Jenn works to identify and promote sustainability education across campus through faculty and college-level initiatives.