Team


Contact us


Emerson AndrewsEmerson Andrews

Sustainable Campus Initiative Fund Manager

emerson.andrews@utah.edu

801-581-7510

Emerson works with students to help them access grant funding for sustainability-focused projects through the Sustainable Campus Initiative Fund. He also works closely with Facilities Management to identify and initiate larger projects with cost savings for the Sustainable Energy Fund, a revolving loan.


Maria Archibald

Sustainability Communications & Relationships Manager

maria.archibald@utah.edu

Maria writes, designs, and produces communications content for the website, newsletter, social media, and Sustain podcast. She also coordinates fundraising efforts.


Brenda Bowen, director of the Global Change and Sustainability Center.Brenda Bowen

Director of Global Change & Sustainability Center (GCSC)

brenda.bowen@utah.edu

801-585-5326

Brenda oversees the creation and execution of the GCSC Strategic Plan, develops and oversees the budget, represents the GCSC in outreach, collaborations, committees and initiatives, designs research, training and teaching activities, and supervises and supports the development of staff members.


amy-brunvandAmy Brunvand

Associate Librarian

amy.brunvand@utah.edu

801-585-9352

Amy is an academic librarian embedded in the Sustainability Office. Her primary areas of focus are data collection for the STARS report on campus sustainability, research consultation, data and assessment help for sustainability related topics, and collection and archiving to support sustainable activity and research on campus and use of the campus as a living laboratory.


Ginger Cannon

Active Transportation Manager

ginger.cannon@utah.edu

801-581-7505

Ginger manages programming, research, and infrastructure for the benefit of people who walk, bike, or roll to their campus destinations.


Kerry Case, tree background, wearing red scarf and black shirt

Kerry Case

Chief Sustainability Officer

sustainability@utah.edu

801-585-9352

Kerry provides senior administrative leadership for strategic planning and implementation of institutional sustainability efforts at the University of Utah. She oversees the work of the Global Change and Sustainability Center (GCSC), Sustainability Office, and efforts to incorporate sustainability into the academic curriculum.


Kara Freedman

Sustainability Engagement & Events Coordinator

kara.freedman@utah.edu


Sarah Hinners

Associate Director of Global Change & Sustainability Center

sarah.hinners@utah.edu

Sarah identifies and supports Campus as a Living Lab opportunities at the University of Utah. This consists of building collaborations between academic teaching/research and campus planning/operations to enhance institution-wide learning and sustainability innovation.


Gabrielle James

Gardens Program Coordinator

gabrielle.james@utah.edu

Gabrielle oversees food grown on campus and manages the Edible Campus Gardens Program’s 14,000 square feet of growing space. They serve the commitment to Campus as a Living Lab by facilitating collaborations between the gardens and courses, researchers, and project groups.


Julie Johnsson

Administrative Assistant for the Global Change & Sustainability Center and Sustainability Office

sustainability@utah.edu


Ming Li

Accountant for the Global Change & Sustainability Center and Sustainability Office

ming.li@utah.edu


laurie_mecham_smLaurie Mecham

Global Change & Sustainability Center Administrative Program Coordinator

laurie.mecham@utah.edu

Laurie coordinates GCSC programs including the seminar series, student and faculty grants, and graduate fellowships. She manages the GCSC website and communications, and supports the Center’s Director and Executive Committee.


Headshot of Dr. Jennifer Watt wearing light gray sweater with silver necklace. Dr. Watt has bangs and shoulder-length wavy brown hair.

Jennifer Watt

Director of Sustainability Education

jennifer.watt@envst.utah.edu

Jenn works to identify and promote sustainability education across campus through faculty and college-level initiatives.